The club was formed in 1957 and is wholly operated and managed by the membership. This photo was taken in 1962 and shows the famous blue sails of the Enterprise dignhy. Over the years the club has been the home to most types of sailing dinghy or catamaran. All dinghies are welcome, however the current dominant fleets are Lasers, RS400s, and the Devoti D-One.

Brian Mackley

Committee Member

Bruce Robinson

Club Principal

Colin Johnson

Committee Member

Jacob Ainswoorth

Sailing Secretary

James Henry


Jason Riby

Vice Commodore

Kayleigh Roberts


Liam Alcock

Committee Member

Nick Martin

Committee Member

Yvonne Henry

Membership Secretary

Contact Us

If you need to get in contact, you can do so on social media: Facebook and Instagram

Alternatively, you can email us: secretary@soshields-sailing.co.uk or sailing@soshields-sailing.co.uk. We also have a telephone number which we'll answer when racing is on: 0191 456 5821